2008 - 52nd Annual

2008 NorthWest Naturopathic Physicians Convention Report

52nd Annual - Vancouver, BC
Dr. Todd Farnsworth, NWNPC Committee Chair

A huge thank you to all the delegates, exhibitors and speakers who helped make the 52nd annual Northwest Naturopathic Physicians Convention a success. It was also the largest and most successful conference ever hosted in BC.

Our delegates came from across the continent: Alberta, Alaska, Arizona, BC, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Nova Scotia, Nevada, Ontario, Oregon, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Washington, and Wisconsin. In addition, we welcomed exhibitors from those states and provinces as well as from Texas, Virginia, Illinois and Florida.

Overall the speaker line-up was very well received. Tree Farm Tapes was on hand to record lectures (as CD or MP3). Contact them directly (www.treefarmtapes.com) for information on ordering. If you would like an additional copy of the syllabus, or a CD with all the speaker notes in PDF format, contact the BCNA (www.bcna.ca). For information on Dr. Abramson’s book contact the BCNA. Our opening plenary speaker, Dr. James Duke, celebrated his 79th birthday at the Northwest. Thank you James for providing us with your wealth of insight and expertise.

Some thanks are in order for all the organizational work involved in hosting the event too. The NWNPC committee includes doctors from across the Canadian and US Pacific Northwest. I would like to thank all directors for accepting various tasks and roles that helped move the convention along smoothly. We were ably supported by Dr. David Bayley as MC. Also, Dr. Scott Tyler helped organize entertainment on both Friday and Saturday evening. The arcade, DJ, live music and magic were a wonderful accompaniment to the seminars. The Healing Hands seminar Saturday morning provided a wonderful opportunity to share technique. Thanks to Dr. Hal Brown for facilitating this event. And I’d like to thank the BCNA staff, Glenn Cassie and Pascale Rootham, for managing registration.